Korea and Back

There’s no real way to start this post.  My time in Korea was short.  I was there for two and a half days, barely enough time to do anything let alone meet my mother for the first time.

The initial meeting was tough for me.  As excited as I was to meet her for the first time, it was hard swallowing the truth-the truth that she IS my mother, but we don’t know each other.  There was no feeling of an automatic connection, there was only our words.  In a way it was sad.  For so long, I always felt that there would be this electric connection between the two of us-something that would forever connect us to each other.  In the end, I had to tell myself that despite our blood ties, we still need to get to know each other.  In the end I knew it would be hard.  It was even harder saying good bye after meeting her only hours ago.

I can’t say much more now because it has taken me so long to figure out how to say what I just said.  All I can say is that I’m happy she and my family are in my life, and that I can get to know them better.  I wish I could say more, and I’m sorry that I’ve left so many of you “hanging.”  I learned some pretty hard truths while I was there which I am still trying to process, and I’m not sure where to begin.  I’ll write more as soon as I am able.  -GS

2 Comments on “Korea and Back

  1. There are no scripts out there for how to deal with something of this magnitude. Anyway, thanks for sharing *any* of this, which must be incredibly hard to wrap one’s mind around at all!

  2. Hey! I’m glad you got to do what I’m still so afraid of doing… you were really brave. I hope the future holds positive things for all of you.

    I look forward to hearing more if you’re willing to divulge. ^_^

Leave a Reply

