Calagno Campaign

For those of you with Facebook….

Name:
Calagno Campaign
Tagline:
Raising money for birthfamily

Host:
Pedro Magni
Type:
Start Time:
Friday, March 7, 2008 at 3:00pm
End Time:
Tuesday, March 18, 2008 at 9:00pm
Location:
Dedham to Pangasinan
City/Town:
Dedham, MA
 
Email:

 


s some of you know, I was adopted from the Philippines and amazingly have recently reunited with my birth mother. On March 19th, I will be traveling to the Philippines to see her for the first time in almost twenty years. I am planning to document my journey and hope to share with you all my video when I return in April. Two years ago, I traveled back to the Philippines for the first time and visited the children’s shelter, but also got the chance to meet some of my birth relatives, but not my birth mother, who had moved to Pangasinan (another province on another island). This past November, I unexpectedly received a text message on my cell phone from my birth mother and have stayed in communication since. My birth mother’s name is Valeria Calagno and at the age of 39, is a widow. She works as a house nanny and has five children to support. My younger brother, Jose Jr., is sixteen and graduating from high school late this March. My birth mother has told me that he is at the top of his class and will be attending college in hopes of becoming a teacher. My younger sister, Jelly, is thirteen and finishing her first year in high school. (There is no 7th or 8th grade in the Filipino educational system) Next is Jendy, who is 10 years old and in 5th grade. My youngest brother, Jonardo is 8 years old and is in the 3rd grade. The baby of the family is Jeevelyn, who is 4 years old. Along with these five siblings, I have an older biological brother (not in photo) who is 24 years old and lives in a near by town. His name is Marcelo and he is currently working. I am writing to you to ask for your support in helping my family in the Philippines. My goal is to raise one thousand dollars and currently, the exchange rate is about 1 USD to 40.5 Filipino Pesos (as of 3/6/08).The reason why I want to raise money for my family is because my youngest sister, Jeevelyn has a physical disability and cannot walk. Financially, my birth mother cannot get Jeevelyn the medical attention that she needs. I would like to raise money to give her the chance to see a doctor and also buy her a wheelchair. Second, my brother Jose will be attending college next year, and will place a financial burden on my birth mother who needs to support her other four children. With the money that I raise, I will give to my birth mother’s family in its entirety. I’m not asking for large amounts. A few dollars collectively will have a great impact. Thank you all for your support!
Leave a Reply

