Natural-lies-ASIAN?

Case Number K83-3518

In the picture
the
seal is placed

strategically over my heart.

By virtue of the stamp,
little Nike shoes,
and waving red, white, and blue colors on a stick,
I am an American.
My American I.V. drip slowly,
reconstituting what little Korean is still left of me to an assimilative void.

I am to be
naturalized today,
and my Korean culture leaks like a sieve.

My mind is caught between two worlds both blurred by the innocence of youth.

The water-mark that appears on my naturalization certificate has been placed over my heart in attempts to further purge my identity of any ties to Korea.

Leave a Reply

